top of page

this is not An Abortion Poem

By: Arianne Bakelmun


GET ouT

of my womb

I did not create you.

Clawing your way into my warmth

Shattering my ribs

with the cavernous expanse of emptiness

Both our heads bowed,

shoulders curling into a space without center

just bleeding

ripping slowly over years endlessly feeding and birthing a dead thing.

Then, a sightless mouth.

Sucking on my breasts

Toothless as innocence and decay and violence

leaving bruises

but, red raw gums

can’t pierce my skin.

I NEED space

for my own gestations

My Baby screams, keens for my attention.

and soon, if no soothing comes,

will go quiet forever

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anxiety

By Lauren Rivera Tear ducts stimulated by my perpetual thoughts. Like vines, it grows and spreads; entangling itself between the deepest parts of the brain. Joyful memories now tainted. Piercing thorn

bottom of page