top of page

God Knew That You Needed Me, As Much As I Needed You.

By Jay Marie Martinez—

God knew that you needed me as much as I needed you.


He knew that you needed a child to love you, and care for you during your most


trying times,


the same way I needed a mother to support me and encourage me during mine.


He knew you needed someone to sit and listen to your 101 repeated stories,


The same way I needed someone to hear my 101 petty complaints.


He knew that you needed a mouth to feed all your experimental dishes,


The same way I had a belly that yearned to be filled with savory foods.


He knew you needed someone to impart your wisdom upon,


The same way I was desperate for guidance.


He knew you needed to be needed,


The same way I needed to be needed.


God knew that you needed me, as much as I needed you.


This poem was originally written and published for the NHE Grant.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

this is not An Abortion Poem

By: Arianne Bakelmun GET ouT of my womb I did not create you. Clawing your way into my warmth Shattering my ribs with the cavernous expanse of emptiness Both our heads bowed, shoulders curling into a

bottom of page