top of page

Class of 2019

By Emely Guerrero—

My graduation ceremony was held at the middle school. I went to in Clifton, New Jersey. It was a very hot and humid day, with the temperature in the high 90's. Graduations are held at the CCMS outdoor auditorium every year. It’s a huge football field covered in bright green turf with a track around it. A small stage was put front and center of the field facing the rows of bleachers where the parents were to sit. Our chairs were arranged to spell out 2019, which you could see from every angle. My friend and I were assigned to sit in the zero. From the audience’s view you could see all the students in their maroon gowns and decorated caps. It was set up beautifully and looked even better when the 2019 class was seated.


High school was a journey for me. I was not a fan of getting up every morning, but once I was there I was okay. Sophomore year was the worst year of high school. Socially and attendance wise. I didn’t have many friends in my classes, and I kept racking up absences. At my high school there was a limit of 16 absences. I had been absent 29 times. Which is ridiculous to say the least. But we had the option of bringing doctors notes which would excuse an absence. The only problem was that I hadn’t gone to the doctors every time I didn’t go to school. I only had around three doctors notes that brought me down to 26.


I was sitting in history class one day where my teacher loved to talk about Trump. Donald Trump had been in office for a few months and my teacher was up to date with all of his moves. He was presenting a PowerPoint and got a call saying I had to go see my counselor. I was nervous because I never did anything to get in trouble, and I thought I had done something. My counselor explained to me that I had too many absences. I could be held back for the year. I had a mix of emotions rushing over me and it really hit me that I could be left back. I didn’t know what to say or do. I kept replaying what she had said over and over again in my head after I walked out of the office. I just kept thinking, how am I going to tell my mom? No one in my family had ever been held back a year, and I couldn’t be the first.


I also spoke with the vice principal, who looked very intimidating but was super nice. He told me to bring in hand written notes from my mom so he could excuse some absences. I had my mom write them and then I was told he couldn’t do anything with them. At this point I was frustrated because I had done what they told me, to then be told the notes weren’t valid. I was trying to do everything I could. I went to my eye doctor to get notes and had no luck. Then I went to my doctor and got a couple. But I was still over the limit.


Summer came around and I got in touch with a woman who worked for the board of education. The vice principal had made it seem like I was going to get my credit back and then went on vacation, so there was no way to get in touch. We ended up meeting, and she is the reason I graduated with my class and didn’t repeat a year. She skimmed through my records and told me since I was a good student she was going to help me out. She told me I was going to be a junior but in order to make up credit on the computer it would have me as a sophomore. I would also have to do what my counselor was to tell me to make it up.


Junior year came and I was so happy and grateful for the chance she gave me. I had to retake two sophomore classes my junior year. I still had credit to make up so I had to go to summer school that summer as well. Which I attended, passed, and gained good memories from. There were two online courses I was told I was going to have to take as well. It was so much I had to do to make up for the credit and it felt never ending.

All I had left to do was the two online courses and then I would finally be done. I spoke with my counselor again and she told me I didn’t have to take those two online classes anymore. I was overjoyed, a huge weight had been lifted off of me. Instead what I had to do was three Saturdays. Summer school was already ridiculously expensive and so were online classes. So, it was a miracle I didn’t have to take them anymore.


Finally, senior year rolled around. All I wanted to do was get out of CHS and graduate. I had my three Saturdays scheduled, and I couldn’t miss any of them. Saturdays weren’t nearly as bad as I imagined. Usually you walk into the building at 9 a.m. and leave at 12 p.m. Each student is assigned to a classroom and you could read, do homework, or put your head down. On one particular Saturday I went and my friend was there, and instead of going to a classroom we had to go to the cafeteria. Almost half the grade was there, and we talked the entire time because the teachers were lenient.


After two years of fighting for my credit, I got it all back my senior year. Almost being held back was truly the worst thing to ever happen to me. I learned to never put myself in that situation ever again. But I also learned what I was capable of doing. I worked hard for it and had faith. There were definitely stressful periods of time but I made it. I walked the field June 27, 2019 and my family watched me receive my diploma.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page