top of page

“I choose me.”



By: Jenny Hernandez


Recently, I have been thinking and reflecting on my life. How I wished for many things such as more time, more resources to be able to achieve the things I want. There is a quote, "You have the same 24 hours as Beyonce does" and Kim Kardashian may have had a point to her "get up and work" statement to a certain extent at least for me because today I want to admit that I want to break up with my procrastination.

That is right, the friend who encourages another Disney film before going to bed, the one who reminds me of the 5 other things I have to do in my room as opposed to my homework and the one who says 5 more minutes after I was expected to start getting ready for work. How uncomfortable to walk away from such a long run with my dear Procrastination, but thinking about it I can do so much without you.

Let us back track, I can be a millionaire, I can write a book, I can even become the next popstar. In retrospect, I guess I can even start small like getting out of bed on time for class and even pick up a nice iced coffee on my way there.

I guess, what I’m really trying to say is, Procrastination, I choose me. We had a long and I mean long run and even when I look at the time and I’m actually on time I will think of you.

When my first wake up alarm goes on and I jump out of bed, I will also think of you in the way we can't be together anymore. So thank you for the time we spent, I hope your next victim, I mean friend will cherish you too.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page